A Quarter Century Ago….

Rebeccahendersonjc
2 min readMay 25, 2021

--

I don’t talk about my marriage, short as it was, very much, but if I had stayed married, I would be observing my Silver Wedding Anniversary as I pen this week’s blog.

My marriage was cut short not because of death, but because I elected to do so. I was a victim of domestic violence. Literally a few hours after we said, “I do”, my then-husband’s behavior changed in a rash way.

There is not a doubt in my mind that if I had remained married, I would be dead. No doubt at all.

Statistics show that in the United States, between 1 out of every 3 and 1 out of every 4 women is, has been, or will be a victim of domestic violence. It is an epidemic, far more prevalent to COVID.

I was blessed in that I had the support of many friends, as well as my parents, to divorce my then-husband. Many women are not that fortunate, so they have little or no choice to to remain in a frightening marriage.

If you are currently a member of the one in three or one in four, I implore you to reach out for help. Now. Tomorrow may be too late.

Copyright, May 24, 2021 by Rebecca A. Henderson

--

--